COLOMBIA

Weird llama (animal) meeting at Guatapé water dam


Llamas are shaggy animals typical for mountainous areas of South America. Still I thought of my first encounter with this Andean animal would be at Machu Picchu ruins or in Ecuador hills, just somewhere in Andes Mountain Range.  In my eyes llama is similar to a lamb because llama´s meat can be consumed and its fur is used to produce wool as well.
Intercultural encounter between European girl and South American llama took place on the shore of Guatapé dam.

Guatapé Dam, Colombia

Guatapé Dam, Colombia

“Is it what I see really what I think it is?” I asked Caracola (meaning slug in Spanish),my very good friend who spent a day with me in Guatapé.
“And what do you think it is?” he asked me.
“I think it’s …  Como se llama ese animal en espanol? (How do you call this animal in Spanish?)
“Llama …”
“Ok, but what´s the name of the animal? I asked him again.
“I´ve already told you, it is called LLAMA”.
Ms. Llama at dam

Ms. Llama at dam

Knock knock on the door of my knowledge. Oh, okay. In Spanish call means llamar and animal is llama. Knock.

“Ohh, sorry, I´ve got a bit confused.”
So there I was.  Nice to meet you Ms. Llama.So finally we get to know each other. Please do not be offended if I ask you one important question:  Why are you here and not at Machu Picchu?

Would like to have a ride?

Would like to have a ride?

It was quite bizarre to see llama at water dam shore, but this lama was not there just for decoration: it was a business issue. Tied with rope and with colorful flower “necklace” waiting for children to ride a llama as it was a horse. Business is business.

“Be careful, llamas tend to spit” Caracola warned me.

“Don´t worry! I just take some pictures and we can go.”

……

Three months later the dream became true-I met llamas on the ruins of Machu Picchu in Perú.

Llamas among tourists at Machu Picchu, nothing strange

Llamas among tourists at Machu Picchu, nothing strange

Llamas at Machu Picchu ruins

Llamas at Machu Picchu ruins

Leave a Reply

