PIMENTONA ART

Do you buy canned sausages only to get a can? Yes, I do!


Junkwoman recollection disorder

I stared at the shelves full of canned food such as vegetables, fruits, fish or meat in crowded supermarket on Saturday afternoon. I skipped from one product to another, took some of them and looked at them carefully and returned all the stuff dissatisfiedly I took back to its place. Normally people would think that I do not like the product but the truth is that I do not like a container. I started to call myself  “chatarrera” meaning junkwoman because of the garbage recollection disorder I have recently discovered inside of me.

How will I transform you, dear Viena sausages can?

How will I transform you, dear Viena sausages can?

I bought a can of Vienna sausages not because I like them but because I just liked the can. I saw it without its paper cover, nicely grey and small and available to acquire new identity by putting some acrylic colors on.

Reuse the whole value of the product

We customers sometimes argue that product prices are too high due to nice package etcetera and I do completely agree- if the liquid costs one third of the price, what do I buy? Do I buy liquid or its package? That’s a business!

So once you pay more than you think you probably should, why don’t you reuse the “garbage” at the maximum? I  Simple cans are great to work with- paint on it, stick some cloth, use it as a small flower pot or candle holder and much more.

 

Earrings holder

Earrings holder

Candle holder

Candle holder

Pen holder

Pen holder

 

Viva MacGyverism art of 21st century!

Do you remember resourceful agent MacGyver who was able to solve any problem with everyday materials he found on “the way” ? I would say that modern art should be kind of MacGyverism – taking useless pieces you are about to throw into a bin to create something valuable or useful.

 

2 thoughts on “Do you buy canned sausages only to get a can? Yes, I do!

Leave a Reply

