BLOG / CHINA / TRAVELS

China: Why do you travel to Fuzhou?


I took flight from Vienna to Dubai, from Dubai to Shanghai and from Shanghai local flight to Fuzhou in Fujian province of China. On the first two flights there was a nice mixture of people- Westerners (many German speaking guys), Arab people and some Asians; on the last flight I seemed to be only no-Chinese person. I had been told before that people might stare at me and that’s what exactly happened in the plane. They probably might have asked: Why is this European girl traveling to Fuzhou?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well the answer is quiet simple: I am going to teach English in Royal English Training Center in Changle City near Fuzhou due to European Voluntary Service till end of November. I took this opportunity as an another challenge in my life- to live in China, be in everyday contact with Chinese people and their culture and try to learn some Chinese (what a hard task) and eat using chopsticks. Anyway that’s my perfect cup of tea- be thrown in different culture and accept it by living their way (EXCEPT: Chinese people spit on the public, I think that I won’t acquire this custom though).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I arrived with 1,5 hour delay to Fuzhou around 1am and was picked up by my new Chinese boss called Lynn, the general manager of school. On the way to the apartment they told me that I was going to live with another volunteer, Polish girl Kasia. So we will be 2 Europeans lost in this concrete Chinese jungle, I thought.

We live in area full of blocks of flats, kind of concrete jungle and there are so many blocks in construction. We live on 12th floor of 17th floor building overlooking part of the city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Flat no.1202

Flat no.1202

View from the window I

View from the window I

View from the window II

View from the window II

Leave a Reply

