BLOG / CHINA / TRAVELS

China: Beer Degustation and Crab Eating


I spent my first Chinese day in the bed lying on bamboo mat and trying to overcome jetlag. I was alone in the apartment; my roomates had already gone to the school. I thought maybe I could go outside to buy something but there was a huge big mystery: I could not even read my address, GPS or Google Maps was not working and I had no Chinese yuans; I stayed home and ate only HORALKA (Slovak waffles, the ones you miss when abroad). Kasia and Lola (Nigerian girl) came in the afternoon and saved me from my hunger delirium; I took a bus with them to the city center, got some Chinese money and discovered that they have KFC, McDonalds (not a fan though), Starbucks and Wallmart.

I like to drink beer and plenty of Chinese beers can be found in the supermarkets. We decided to do “Chinese beer Degustation” to find out which beer is not eligible to be called beer and which one will be perfect match for those hot days (it was around 32 degrees these days). First place was given to LAOTE , the second place took TSINGTAO  and on the third place was SEDRIN.

Serious degustation with points and personal notes for each beer

Serious degustation with points and personal notes for each beer

TSINGTAO ended on the second place

TSINGTAO ended on the second place

On Sunday (my second day in China), Lynn took us to Chinese beach in Changle city. I did not like it very much- the sea was as a dark chocolate and there was garbage on the beach. Anyway other Chinese people we were with enjoyed the beach.

Environmental education is missing

Environmental education is missing

Vicky (on the right side) is our project mentor

Vicky (on the right side) is our project mentor

Afterwards we went to eat some SEAFOOD. Lynn ordered at least 13 different dishes that were coming one after another till the round table was completely full. I like seafood but this time it was a challenge. Oh, how should I eat a crab and what about that unknown sea bug?  After all, I did it. I have to say that it was really tasty and fresh (you enter the special aquarium area and choose seafood you would like to eat, they take it out and prepare it).

Chinese restaurant at seashore

Chinese restaurant at seashore

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Many different dishes

Many different dishes

The hardest task of the evening: how to eat this crab?

The hardest task of the evening: how to eat this crab?

Seafood dinner- Kasia, Chinese people and me

Seafood dinner- Kasia, Chinese people and me

Eating done

Eating done

Leave a Reply

